Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
knooihum
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:53 am
Contact:

Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by knooihum »

Hello all! I have a rather interesting problem. I am running Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit, and neither the 64-bit or 32-bit versions of the game will run for me. What is even more odd is that I ran the demo first to be sure the game worked in Linux, and I had zero problems.

The different versions had different problems, so I'll outline them seperately:
64-bit: This version of the game began to load before crashing. Running the script from command line revealed that there were several errors. Unfortunately, I do not have the output saved, and I deleted the 64-bit version before trying the 32-bit version. I did note, however, that the final error presented was that it could not open the config file. This is probably because the config file did not exist at that location.

32-bit: This one was even more strange, the system essentially believes the file does not exist.

Code: Select all

mike@localhost:~/Desktop/factorio/bin/i386$ pwd
/home/mike/Desktop/factorio/bin/i386
mike@localhost:~/Desktop/factorio/bin/i386$ file factorio 
factorio: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.16, stripped
mike@localhost:~/Desktop/factorio/bin/i386$ ./factorio 
bash: ./factorio: No such file or directory
mike@localhost:~/Desktop/factorio/bin/i386$ 
It is worth noting that I also attempted to run both versions using "sudo" and received the same results respectively.
Tomorrow I will try running the program on a different machine running the same OS structure, just in case this is more of a hardware problem, but I thought the report was worth passing on regardless.

Thanks for making such an interesting game, devs! I hope I get to play it soon :P

Best,
Mike

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by cube »

Hm, that is weird.
Isn't it a problem with permissions? Can you please post output of

Code: Select all

ls -lR ~/Desktop/factorio
? Also, what tool did you use to unpack the tarball?
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by cube »

... so I found this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... 84e188420a
and it looks like you should do

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
to be able to run the 32bit version.

But the 64bit version should work as well. If you have time, please try it again and post output of

Code: Select all

ls -lR~/Desktop/factorio 
before launching factorio, the exact error messages and

Code: Select all

ls -lR ~/Desktop/factorio
after running it.
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

knooihum
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:53 am
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by knooihum »

Thanks Cube! With regard to ia32-libs you were exactly correct. I forgot that this is a relatively clean install of Ubuntu that didn't have those yet.
After installing the libs he 32-bit version produced the same results as the 64-bit, so I will do any further tests using the 32-bit version since that is relevant to more users.

I do not think this could be a permissions issue, considering I achieved the same results when running the program as root (via sudo)
I used the standard "Archive Manager" program that comes stock with Ubuntu 12.04. Incidently, this is the same extractor used for the demo, which worked then.

Now for the output of the requested commands. Again, this was all done with the 32-bit version.

ls -lR BEFORE running factorio:
http://pastebin.com/9ZwMqG2a

Factorio Command Line Output
http://pastebin.com/tGR4A0pu (note that I truncated duplicates to make it fit)
Also, for some reason this didn't pipe correctly, but it informed me the program died of a segfault

ls -lR AFTER running factorio:
http://pastebin.com/C7rFAK6g
Thanks for the help!

P.S. Your team may want to adjust the max character count for this forum, of allow .txt attachments. These limitations made posting the output you wanted kinda tricky :P

knooihum
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:53 am
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by knooihum »

Just FYI, I've tried several different machines confirmed that Factorio segfaults (with the same errors as above) on Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. This is no longer a problem for me, as I have the Macbook I generally use back again, but I thought you'd want to know regardless.

Mike

JackGruff
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:44 pm
Contact:

[0.8.8] [Linux] Segmentation fault

Post by JackGruff »

Best C++ error...

Code: Select all

stephen-linux x64 # ./factorio 
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
/home/stephen/Downloads/factorio/config/config.ini: cannot open file
Segmentation fault

Code: Select all

System:    Host: stephen-linux
           Kernel: 3.11.0-15-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: Gnome
           Distro: Linux Mint 16 Petra

Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Crosshair III Formula version: Rev 1.xx
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 2003 date: 10/21/2011
CPU:       Quad core AMD Phenom II X4 810 (-MCP-) clocked at 800.00 MHz 
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV770 [Radeon HD 4850] 
           X.Org: 1.14.5 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1680x1050@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV770 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 9.2.1
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169 
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 720.2GB (79.9% used)
Info:      Processes: 177 Uptime: 3:20 Memory: 872.2/7976.9MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4 

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.8.8] [Linux] Segmentation fault

Post by cube »

ok, thanks for the report. To me it looks simillar to this one: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=7&t=2029 , so let's continue in that thread.
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: [0.8.8] [Linux] Segmentation fault

Post by MF- »

cube wrote:ok, thanks for the report. To me it looks simillar to this one: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=7&t=2029 , so let's continue in that thread.
That link got me to this very same thread.
Are you sure about it?

@ missing config file:
I remember I had to make the "config" directory in order to have the game launch itself.


EDIT: Did you merge the threads or WT-What?
The RSS feed item for "[0.8.8][Linux] Segmentation fault" gets me in the middle of this "doesn't run on ubuntu" thread.

knooihum
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.8.8] [Linux] Segmentation fault

Post by knooihum »

MF- wrote: @ missing config file:
I remember I had to make the "config" directory in order to have the game launch itself.
Thanks, I'll try that next time I'm on linux. Also, cube, I agree with MF- on the confusion over similar topics. The link you posted is the same one that is in my address bar as I view this topic. Regardless, if this topic is still open once I try creating the config dir, I'll post here for the sake of completeness.

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.8.8] [Linux] Segmentation fault

Post by cube »

MF- wrote:EDIT: Did you merge the threads or WT-What?
Yeah, slpwnd did :-)
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by MF- »

I guess this issue is now tracked more in-depth at https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 29&p=17018 ?

User avatar
Madara Uchiha
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by Madara Uchiha »

Try the solution proposed there, see if that works out for you.

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Game Doesn't Run on Ubuntu Linux

Post by cube »

MF- wrote:I guess this issue is now tracked more in-depth at https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... 29&p=17018 ?
This bug should be fixed in 0.9.1, moving to resolved.
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”