[0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Thyrann
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:29 am
Contact:

[0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by Thyrann »

Hi there.

VERSION: 0.10.2 MODDED

BUG: Burner inserter "eats" all coal when fueled by wood (wood was in the fuel slot). It ate through all my coal. It was placing coal in fuel slot occupied by wood. Therefore erasing coal while still being fueled by wood.

NOTE: I am using modded factorio (Dytech, F-Mod, Treefarm) and i havent tried existence of the bug in vanilla factorio.

EDIT in bold font
Last edited by Thyrann on Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hoho
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by hoho »

Working as intended

burner-inserters should use anything with fuel value once their fuel slot is empty. If you use it to move coal it will start "eating" coal once old fuel has ran out.

Dark
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by Dark »

The problem is - the slot was already filled with wood. So no, not as intended.
I seen this behavior for myself.

slpwnd
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by slpwnd »

What exactly is your setup here? I mean where is the burner inserter taking the stuff from and where is he putting it? I tried this for a while and it all seems to work fine. There was a bug that burner inserter would not fuel itself sometimes (https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=7&t=4843) and this one will be fixed in the 0.10.4.

Just to make sure we are on the same note. What you mean is that the burner inserter inserts the code inside himself and the coal disappears? And this is because it has a piece of wood in its fuel inventory?

Dark
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by Dark »

Test Setup: 0.10.3
1. Put burner inserter somewhere.
2. Insert stack of wood into it.
3. Drop coal in front of inserter.
4. Inserter eats coal - coal disappears into the void.

slpwnd
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by slpwnd »

Couldn't reproduce. Neither in current build nor in 0.10.3.

Dark
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by Dark »

Strange, perhaps mods messing up with it.

slpwnd
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1835
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by slpwnd »

Dark wrote:Strange, perhaps mods messing up with it.
Does it happen to you even without mods?

Dark
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Voracious burner inserter

Post by Dark »

No, this does not happen on clear version, so it definitely caused by mods.

I noticed that in modded game burner tries to eat at-least 5 coal before actually working.
In clean game burners inserts only one item of coal or wood and starts to work.

So what happens here: inserter tries to eat up a minimum of 5 fuel items and it does not check if fuel of the same type, if type is different then new fuel goes to null.
In clear game there was no need for type check, since only one fuel item item is required and it will not attempt to insert anymore.

The need for a minimum of 5 items is probably caused by DyTech-Core and it's changes to max stack values.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by kovarex »

Hello, I tried to reproduce the problem without success.

I installed the Dytech core mod and the Dytech energy mod, and I still didn't find anything wrong.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12888
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by ssilk »

I suggest a function, where a player can copy/paste a list of all his active mods plus the VERSION, because that bug may be already fixed by the modder, so that the devs use a newer version, then the player.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by kovarex »

Ok, but when the savegame is provided, it contains the list of mods and versions already.

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12888
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by ssilk »

Of course. Much easier.

It was just my impression, that there are currently many bugs about "combinations of mods". Those can be found easier like so.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Dark
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by Dark »

Found the culprit, it's F-Mod:

Code: Select all

	if glob.burnerinserters~=nil then
		for i,d in pairs(glob.burnerinserters) do
			if d.valid then
				if d.getinventory(1).getitemcount("coal")<3 then
					if d.heldstack~=nil and d.heldstack.name=="coal" then
						d.getinventory(1).insert{name="coal", count=d.heldstack.count}
						d.heldstack=nil
					end
				end
			else
				table.remove(glob.burnerinserters,i)
			end
		end
	end 
Not a factorio bug.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8078
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: [0.10.2][kovarex] Voracious burner inserter

Post by kovarex »

Thank you for the find!

It was probably a workaround of the bug that inserters didn't feed themselfs, it should be removed from the mod then.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”