Page 1 of 1

Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2021 2:52 pm
by lyvgbfh
This tool will enable achievements (in-game, and on Steam) for modded saves. This will not work for saves where cheats, console commands, or the map editor have been used. This also will not enable achievements for which you've failed the prerequisites (i.e. Getting on Track).

This will use your vanilla achievement progress, so you may see stats change when you first enable it, as progress made on modded saves without this tool are separate (achievements-modded.dat).

To install, place version.dll in the same folder as your Factorio.exe. By default this would be Factorio\bin\x64\ .

Steam users need an additional step:
In Steam, add

Code: Select all

cmd /c start "" %command%
as the launch options under the game properties.

Image

Requirements:
Windows, Factorio. Another author has made a GNU/Linux version here.

Troubleshooting:
If things aren't working as expected, run Factorio.exe from a command line with the following syntax: factorio.exe > %USERPROFILE%\Desktop\out.txt . The log file you get should detail if the patches were applied. If they weren't, please open an issue on Github or post here and I'll do my best to get things updated.

Acknowledgements:
Wube, for being awesome and providing the debug symbols with the game.

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2022 3:09 am
by IconicBacon
I attempted to use this to enable achievements however it did not work. I couldn't find the command line you referred to for troubleshooting so I tried my computer's and Steams launch options but even though steam still launched as normal I couldn't find anything that would help me troubleshoot. Is there something I am doing wrong?
Edit: I found the text however it had nothing on it

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 1:15 pm
by Nes_p
Thank you. This worked for me. Finally I will get "Mass production 3" :D

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2022 2:45 am
by Gagabou
Thanks a lot for the DLL, sadly it doesn't seem to be working as intended anymore.

I'd really love for it to be working since the only mod I'm currently using is "Change enemy color" in order to actually SEE the enemies on the map.

Being colorblind, I just get headaches trying to find the red boxes on the brown background and I beleive this color scheme change should just be part of the base game tbh.

The out.txt file generated on my desktop seems to indicate everything is patched correctly (here is the content of the file):

Fixing import for version.dll...
StartPatch called...
do_patch called...
szExePath: E:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Factorio\bin\x64\factorio.exe
RuleSize: 12 ReplSize: 11
Search range[size: 31178740]: 00007ff6943f0000 ~ 00007ff6961abff4
Apply Patch at 00007ff69454d59a
Patched 1 of 6.
RuleSize: 32 ReplSize: 4
Search range[size: 31178720]: 00007ff6943f0000 ~ 00007ff6961abfe0
Apply Patch at 00007ff69453052b
Apply Patch at 00007ff6945305cb
Patched 2 of 6.
RuleSize: 9 ReplSize: 5
Search range[size: 31178743]: 00007ff6943f0000 ~ 00007ff6961abff7
Apply Patch at 00007ff69491679c
Patched 3 of 6.
RuleSize: 14 ReplSize: 8
Search range[size: 31178738]: 00007ff6943f0000 ~ 00007ff6961abff2
Apply Patch at 00007ff694f1807a
Patched 4 of 6.
RuleSize: 23 ReplSize: 11
Search range[size: 31178729]: 00007ff6943f0000 ~ 00007ff6961abfe9
Apply Patch at 00007ff694f165b0
Apply Patch at 00007ff694f1665d
Patched 5 of 6.
RuleSize: 14 ReplSize: 14
Search range[size: 31178738]: 00007ff6943f0000 ~ 00007ff6961abff2
Apply Patch at 00007ff694f167f0
Patched 6 of 6.
0.000 Initializing Steam API.
0.000 Steam requires game restart, restarting...
All done.
==============================================
I'll try to open an issue on Github, maybe it has something to do with the fact my SteamLibrary (E:\) isn't on the same drive as my base steam installation(D:\) or maybe that wouldn't make any sense.

Anyhow, I guess I'll just let the game sit for a while because I really like collecting the achievements and there is no way I can justify getting a headache only to be "allowed" to unlock achievements.

Cheers!

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2022 2:57 am
by Gagabou
Nevermind my last reply, the fix was mentionned in your last resolved issue on Github.

Steam was changing the search order for DLLs when launching directly from steam.

Your fix as explained by you:

Image

Thanks 1000%, I can finally go back to playing this beautiful game without having to chose in-between having a headache or not being able to get achievements!

:D

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2022 11:22 am
by Mr-Bandit
is there a way to get this working without using a cmd box everytime?

- or could i set up the cmd to run factorio.exe automatically, then all i would see is the box opening and factorio starting. i guess that would be next best thing.

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2022 4:54 am
by Gagabou
Maybe I'm missreading your question, but if you are talking about having to open a cmd window (manually) and entering the above commands everytime; then I think you're giving yourself a bit too much trouble.

I'd point you to re-reading the instructions in the image posted above; if you're running it from steam, these are instructions to SET the launch-options that will enable the .dll to work correctly when starting Factorio through steam or using the icon on your desktop.

If this is not the situation you're trying to describe (Trying to make it so you can just use steam to start the game normally and the .dll will be loaded/work)
Then I don't really know what you're asking, could you elaborate?

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2022 6:57 pm
by Burrotieso
Hi.
I'm having some issues with this mod. When I copy the .dll to directory and set the launch options on steam all I get is this:
Image
The game doesn't run or anything, all I get is that screen.

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2022 12:36 pm
by MrJake222
Is there a Linux version?

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2022 2:31 am
by lyvgbfh
Burrotieso wrote:
Mon Sep 05, 2022 6:57 pm
Hi.
I'm having some issues with this mod. When I copy the .dll to directory and set the launch options on steam all I get is this:
The game doesn't run or anything, all I get is that screen.
Hi sorry for the delay, I hadn't received forum notifications. You can resolve it by setting the launch options to the following

Code: Select all

cmd /c start "" %command%

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2022 6:13 pm
by UnlegitSenpaii
MrJake222 wrote:
Sat Sep 10, 2022 12:36 pm
Is there a Linux version?
Yes! I made one, because no one else did:
https://github.com/UnlegitSenpaii/FAE_Linux

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2023 8:34 pm
by alecika
lyvgbfh wrote:
Wed Sep 14, 2022 2:31 am
Burrotieso wrote:
Mon Sep 05, 2022 6:57 pm
Hi.
I'm having some issues with this mod. When I copy the .dll to directory and set the launch options on steam all I get is this:
The game doesn't run or anything, all I get is that screen.
Hi sorry for the delay, I hadn't received forum notifications. You can resolve it by setting the launch options to the following

Code: Select all

cmd /c start "" %command%
Life saver! Still works as of 1.1.74

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 8:11 am
by lyvgbfh
If you're on any recent experimental build of Factorio, please update to the latest release to resolve a common crash caused by a patch landing where it shouldn't.

Release is here.

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2023 1:55 pm
by zin
Still works! Thank you so much :)

Tested in the latest game version as of writing this, 1.1.82. Using

Code: Select all

cmd /c start "" %command%
in the Steam launch options.

Re: Modded Achievement Enabler

Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2023 1:30 am
by fflaguna
It still works as of 2023-11-01, thank you! Make sure you go to https://github.com/oorzkws/FactorioAchi ... r/releases to grab the most recent one (published January 2023). As soon as I loaded my ongoing Space Exploration game, I got a ton of achievements at once. Some of them won't complete, such as "Research Oil Processing", because I have already researched them. That's fine.

Thanks for the hard work!